Just another WordPress.com site

ONLY THE NAMES CHANGE

This is the name of the Song I’ve had in my life for what seems ages now.. The initial thoughts that created this song came about me seeing a drunk woman acting like a god of sorts holding a very large glass of red wine. I started to write about what this woman’s life might be like and how she might end up, it then led to me writing about 3 people who are all on self destructive paths. It’s about the same situations within people that occur everyday, but Only The Names Change….

The Photo is taken from a BirdPen promo photo shoot we did.

8 responses

  1. Philippe Brussels

    That Song is one of the most terrific Live !
    Can’t wait to hear it again and still very curious to hear the “Studio” version..

    September 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm

  2. stefanie a.k.a arctara

    exactly! this one and OFF are my favorites :))
    btw; i still want that t-shirt 😉

    September 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  3. Jeff ( Selway2)

    Hi Dave,
    so impatient to hear new songs from your forthcoming album .Is “Only the names change” also the title of your( B&P) second LP? Hope to buy it in October after the gig in HUY (BE).See you there and in Namur with the collective.

    See you ” pool world champion 2010″

    September 7, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    • The 2nd BirdPen album is as yet untitled !! You may just have to do with the live version for now but we are planning on releasing it !!

      I AM DAVE PEN

      September 7, 2010 at 2:56 pm

  4. UnholyDirtyBeautiful PL

    I have a basic question:) When? When? When? 🙂 This year or beginning of the next year??
    I hope 2nd album will be released soon =) I’ve been waiting since I saw you first time on stage in Warsaw (October 2009)! ;)) I… no.. WE really can’t wait!:) and you arouse our curiosity all the time 🙂 life isn’t easy ;)))

    Best regards from Poland to You and Mike! 🙂

    September 7, 2010 at 5:50 pm

  5. Damkina

    This world is strange and frightening :
    Next on Sick, Sad World :

    Lord, bless us but invest not
    – Court denies deities right to open demat accounts !
    http://www.telegraphindia.com/1100717/jsp/frontpage/story_12694470.jsp

    Shortage of death sentences in USA !
    F…ing crisis !
    http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/national-shortage-drug-lethal-injections-leads-stays-execution

    Pinocchio 2.0 : Machines live like ordinary people. The Proof ? They’re liars !
    http://scienceblogs.com/notrocketscience/2009/08/robots_evolve_to_deceive_one_another.php

    September 8, 2010 at 7:21 pm

  6. whatever are my names, I am myself

    Interesting… I have been myself “The Name” several times. And Only The names changed. I was born with the need of going through destructive paths because I can only see the light through darkness (a kind of natural spiritual process to me, anyway). To keep safe and sane through those destructive paths, I’ve decided to consciously and carefully “schizophrenised” myself. I’ve created several “myself” with different names. Always in an artistic way to make it look magic. About ten of “me” live or lived (some are dead, I didn’t need them anymore, they drove me to enlightenment safely, here are their purpose), I name them and give them artistic skills. They are painter, drawer or photograph and most of them are writers and write down their existential questioning and frightening words. People who are on self destructive path always look the same from an outside point of view, even if, from my inside point of view, we can clearly differentiate those who choose to suffer the consequences of destruction and those who choose to use it as an enlightenment tool. And indeed, only the name change…

    November 14, 2012 at 11:54 am

  7. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous tto and you’re just
    too excellent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like wuat you’re saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still take care of
    to keep it smart. I cant ait to read much more from you.
    This is really a tremendous web site.

    June 16, 2014 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

