Just another WordPress.com site

GUIDED BY LIGHTS

So it goes, I’m back on the bus where we sleep, eat, chat, drink and watch bad horror movies.

Archive were in Berlin to play a show for the Radio 1’s ten-year anniversary. Changes and re-arrangements were made at short notice to our show but we managed to pull it off. My first time playing the new material went good and playing the “other drums” alongside Smiley was a new and intense experience for me. I wished the tour had started here and it will be good to ground in the new tunes once we start the wheels rolling along the fuzz filled tracks on the Archive super sonic highway.

I stayed on in Berlin alongside fellow band members Pollard, Darius, Danny and Steve for some Acoustic performances. Some TV was to be filmed which is always a bit nerve racking but the new tunes transfer well on keys and acoustic guitar. We then played a full set to launch the album in Germany in the Hotel Michelberger where we were staying. A huge crowd turned out for the intermit show and we had to perform with only one monitor for the whole band as the other monitor decided to head to the light and flash a white death through the sub hole in front of me. The show was intense and a huge thanks to everyone who came, we were overwhelmed at how many of you there were and sorry to all the people that couldn’t get in. The Hotel was very “rock n roll” and any establishment that screens the movie The Big Lebowski 24 hours a day in every room and along the corridors is damn OK in my book.

I stayed awake and got a cab at 5.15 am to go to the airport, by this time everything around me wasn’t quite focused and a bubble of some sort had formed around every breath and movement I made. I queued up for 35 minutes at the wrong check-in desk then had to move quickly to make sure I made my first flight. I ate a Snickers bar in the line as I was boarding as the hole in my stomach started to feel bottomless. As soon as I sat in my seat towards the back of the plane I immediately fell asleep and awoke with a bump as we landed. I then ran a maze of trying to find Gate 2G, delayed shuttle bus after delayed shuttle bus meant again I only just made the flight. I thought the businessman alongside me on the bus was gonna explode due to the slowness of the shuttle buses. I boarded my plane and was seated at the very back; I fell asleep before we even started to taxi for the runway. I awoke when we landed.

Now in Brest France I was here for a show on an island called Ouessant with Robin Foster. We drove to the port of Camaret then boarded a boat to the island, my mind was back with my body after some nice healthy lunch and the sun was shining, summer decided it didn’t want to leave us just yet after all the delays it had had this year.

The evening was spent with mellow beers and some photographs of us jumping from a small wall. How very grown up we are.

The show was played to many a drunken islander and the fog rolled in. I walked back to the house guided by the circling light of the huge lighthouse on the island. I could hear the waves of the sea and the salty breeze against my face as I stepped along the winding paths near the beach in the deep black of the night.

I awoke after only a few hours sleep to make my way home. A boat had been hired for myself, Robin’s manager Charlie and guitar technician Cyril. We boarded in the haze of the dawn light and after around 20 minutes the captain of the boat asked me if I’d like to drive it, of course I said yes so cruised the boat along watching the radar and the GPS to see our destination. Not far from the end I noticed something grey in the corner of my eye jump from the water, I looked to my left and there were around 8 Dolphins about 10 metres from the boat swimming alongside us jumping in and out of the water. It was a fantastic and beautiful sight to see and a great way to round of the hectic few weeks I’d had rehearsing and playing shows with Archive and then alongside Robin and his band.

I slept all the way home on the plane.

I am Dave Pen

16 responses

  1. What a great photo with Robin! 🙂 And it’s Ouessant, not Quessant… 😉

    September 11, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  2. andre nowak

    Nice trip between Berlin & Ouessant island ! Thank you for this nice report and the dolphins scene. So, the show must go on I suppose ! See you in Bordeaux (november) with Archive & somewhere else (?) with Birdpen… Sleep well in the airspace !

    September 11, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  3. Maud

    Also it’s Michelberger 😉 (how much difficult words in here!)
    And thanks again for the amazing amazing performance there!!!

    September 11, 2012 at 5:29 pm

  4. Natacha

    Tiens Ouessant… De vieux souvenirs m’y accrochent. Dont une tempête pendant la traversée. J’aime. Merci Dave.

    September 11, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  5. christine

    Michel Berger was a very knowned (and one of the best)french songwriter and singer. Lebowski (not Labowski) 🙂 Thanx for sharing your trip in Berlin and Ouessant. :))

    September 11, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  6. nice one, dave! take good care so youll be in good shape for the exhaustions for the tour 😉 cant wait to see you guys in vienna soon!! love stefanie

    September 12, 2012 at 10:13 am

  7. flylover

    Love you all!!!

    September 12, 2012 at 10:53 am

  8. Fibi

    Just wanted to say thanks for the great concert in Berlin. Amazing show and beautiful songs! I was impressed by you and the others.
    And I am very grateful to see you soon in Berlin. The tickets are already on my desk.

    Thank you.

    Take care.
    Yours Fibi

    September 12, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  9. Hi Dave,
    I’m only come back home tuesday evening from my “Britain’s tour” and now, back to usual life is very difficult… It was an amazing journey, how lucky we was !! Head full of great souvenirs, superb pics (from my sister, think u saw them), incredible weather, beautiful crossing with mesmerising music in the ears (even if I didn’t had lucky to see dolphins..), and above all the exceptional chance to be here for scales, “Forgiveness” in private and talked to you was just incredible !! You was so kind, as always…thanks for those very great moments !
    But I’ve got so many regrets, so many questions to ask and things to tell to you… Again, I didn’t dare return talk to you, afraid to disturb you…you seems so disapointed by the performance…Thanks to that fuckin’ idiot who had vandalized all your work and had a bit spoiled this evening !! But not enough to make me regret all the trek that I’ve done ! The gig was nonetheless amazing, with beautiful lights, and even if we had to suffer the fog, all those coal nut of drunken guys and to finish the beer’s lack…it was a fantastic evening !!
    It’s a real pity that you had to leave the island so fast, but you were there and I thank you for coming in spite of your well loaded timetable.
    I’ve to say that on monday we decided to make a “pilgrimage” at the scene of shoot of “Forgiveness”… That was so moving to walk around there with “Forgiveness” in my ears ! Besides, we discovered “la Chapelle du Pardon”…not an hasard I imagine ! Of course, I’ve drunk a beer at the pub, a very friendly place that you know…!!
    I hope I’ll have the chance to see you very soon with enchanting Robin’s music. I’m ready to drive again for hours, but I wish you’ll come again in my Normandy, I’ll not miss you this time ! With hope I carry on, and by waiting, I’ll see you with Archive. Can’t wait for heard “Conflict” on live, I adore this amazing track !! Take care and see you soon !
    I am only Emilie

    September 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  10. Patricia

    Hi Dave Pen, I saw you in Ouessant few days agi, I didn’t know you, when I heard “Forgivness”, it was touched in my body and in my soul. I was just in front of you during the concert and I felt how much you was physically and mentally in your song. Thank you for that moment.

    September 28, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  11. Nathalie PENIGUEL

    Hello Dave; Hello Mike!    First I want to thank you for your album. It’s been the sound of my summer and my holiday. I’m pleased to hear you again. I was missing you for long. Your voices made me close to you, my friends. So far in the distance, so close with the sound. Your album give great pleasure. I want to send you warmed thanks for the great work you made.  My son Maxime and I are your first and for ever French fans!   I don’t know if you’ll come close to us for your own tour, but we’ll be in Nantes to see you with Archive on November 8th. We will try to see you again after the gig, as usually. We are in hurry for that huge moment.    Before that, we send you lot of friendly kisses, whishing you luck and pleasure!   Nathalie and Maxime

    > Message du 11/09/12 18:02 > De : “Dave Pen’s Blog” > A : nathalie.peniguel@orange.fr > Copie à : > Objet : [New post] GUIDED BY LIGHTS > >WordPress.com

    iamdavepen posted: “So it goes, I’m back on the bus where we sleep, eat, chat, drink and watch bad horror movies. Archive were in Berlin to play a show for the Radio 1’s ten-year anniversary. Changes and re-arrangements were made at short notice to our show but we man”

    October 5, 2012 at 3:25 pm

  12. To Dave.
    I am Elisabeth.Just a French woman who is listening to you since 2004 when I was living in Greece, then when I was living in the UK and now in Sweden.My road since 2004 looks like most of your songs, especially 3 of them.They helped me to be sure that I was who I am now.
    I like the way you say ” take care each other” at the end of a concert.
    I wish to say more .
    But I cant.
    Thank you.

    October 9, 2012 at 7:18 pm

  13. Patricia

    I dont understand why my message send on September after your Ouessant’s show was erased…Patricia.

    October 10, 2012 at 7:56 pm

  14. To Dave,
    So much people around you .I feel small ,amost shy.When I listen to you and look at you,I am sure of that :one good thing about music,when it hits you feel no pain.
    Stillness of soul,thats what makes me close to you.

    October 14, 2012 at 5:06 pm

  15. You feel so incredible
    It feels so magical by your side
    Every time I see you look me in the eye
    I look straight back ’cause a part of me will die
    It feels impossible
    Silently, quietly gone…

    ARCHIVE “With Us Until You’re Dead”

    October 16, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  16. ciao Dave BirdPen,
    I reallly like how you express on stage.. your voice touches deep in a gentle way…when i saw you the first time i thought :this man got a soul ♥ don’t lose it , it is really the most important thing that you got..baci baci baci & a big warm hug..ah forgot I’ll be to Rome at 23 november for Archive’s spectacle. thank you for interesting notes on your blog.
    i’ll continue to follow it..bye bye

    October 21, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

