Just another WordPress.com site

Aside

ARCHIVE W.U.U.Y.D. TOUR BLOG DISPATCH 1

I have always slept awfully when we start tours and only ever manage to get some real shut eye when we cross the channel sea and I stay in my bunk on the bus when it’s parked in the bottom of the ship. It helps me get a couple hours nod before the swaying and revving of the road will keep me restless and in and out of the sleep I so badly need.

Writing this now I am in Luxembourg and have just returned from a stroll with a few others from the band. It was a lot warmer than I thought it would be and found my self sweating a lot climbing up huge steps to get to the top of the city walls wearing a thick black leather jacket.

We went to French restaurant, the menu was in French so I ordered some French food, after I’d finished my meal asked for the bill in French to which the snotty waiter replied we don’t speak French here. So I said “THANK YOU” in English at a decent level so he could hear me. I don’t know what language they speak in Luxembourg and have been here four times. I always thought it was French, sorry everyone. It’s Luxembourgish isn’t it? Do they speak this language anywhere else?

The first show was good and we put in a decent performance on a very tight stage so not much room for a wild spin or a cartwheel but the crowd were great and I must say that people in Luxembourg can clap in time. It’s always a slight fear when a crowd get exiting and start clapping along to a song and it’s way of the tempo of the click I have in my ears but…This crowd were on the money so an in time applause to you all. I was also relieved that my voice held up seeing as it had broken like a smashed piece of glass just a few days ago. Covonia cough syrup (The original one) thank you for the help and the drowsy buzz you gave me, I’m still gonna give you a few sips later for tonight’s show.

So in Zurich Switzerland now looking forward to tonight’s show, It’s Friday so the vibe should be good. Bring it !!

SO after a great show in Zurich we headed to the beautiful and tranquil setting by the lake that is Stravinsky Hall in Montreux Switzerland. I woke up to a stunning view of the lake and the sun was shining, in true rock n roll spirit I got up and went for run right along the lake, forgetting the altitude difference so breathing was a bit heavy at times but felt good for my efforts of trying to stay fit on the road. (I do feel a bender of sorts on the cards soon though).

The show was awesome this night and the venue was stunning. Apart from Saints losing 4 1 to West Ham this was a great day.

On a day off now in a Best Western Hotel in the middle of nowhere near Munich. Robin Williams and Sheryl From Curb your Enthusiasm are over dubbed in German on the box. Tour Dispatch 1 done.

I am Dave Pen

14 responses

  1. Good morning Dave,
    Luxembourg?:)Funny country where French language is not so beloved…except if you are a business man :).They speak a kind of German;)first, then French..
    Happy that you ordered your meal in my language and said thank you in your language:)
    I read about your need of sleep..I feel the same most of the time but..in 2006, when I was living in Athens ,I discovered this essential song of Archive…The best way to make people understand :sleeping is the key to be far from ” noise” and “alone” sometimes..
    Look after yourself.

    October 22, 2012 at 10:40 am

  2. Thanks Dave

    October 22, 2012 at 10:49 am

  3. brusselsislove

    Ah, you woke up to a beautiful setting, that means you actually slept! Wonderful. Looking forward to 13 Nov in Brussels.

    October 22, 2012 at 10:52 am

  4. Jeff ( Selway2)

    Dave, thanks for these first feelings !!!
    Can’t wait seeing you and the Collective Nov 4th , in Cologne my 1st date
    Btw, supporting Aston-Villa FC is, also, really not a good deal ! hmm hmm

    Wann echt gelift !!! = see you ,in Luxemburgisch 😉

    October 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

  5. john maletka

    Thanks for the show in Montreux. Yes the Stravinsky theatre is an impressive place and your concert was full of emotion. You guys are beginning to move a lot more around the stage. i hope you can maintain the energy. The road is long and sometimes you will wake up and ask ‘where am I?’ I have put in short extract of the Montreux concert on you tube should you be interested. There were no ballons in the sky that night 😉

    October 22, 2012 at 4:05 pm

  6. baby don’t forget to take your meds \o/

    October 22, 2012 at 6:21 pm

  7. Kate

    Hey Dave,
    Hope u can get a decent nap before tomorrow’s show in Dresden. I’ll be driving a long way to get there and hope to see u spick & span back on stage 😀
    Hope Pollard’s throat is better now, I imagine that the Zurich show was exhausting for him, he didn’t sound well, heard it on the radio.
    Hope he gets well.
    C you in Dresden and then Poznan of course 😉

    October 23, 2012 at 11:27 am

  8. so happy to see you in three weeks in Paris. that will be the third time. surprise me again and again. before I’ll die …

    October 23, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  9. yossarian

    7 days and counting….. Lookin’ forward to see you guys in Berlin.

    October 23, 2012 at 4:56 pm

  10. Dear Dave,

    Thank you so much for the concert in Zurich! I can’t explain what’s so special about Archive, but what you’re doing is just magical! I’ve seen you live a few times now and I love that every concert starts with a big band (the best I’ve ever seen was last year together with the orchestra in Winterthur/Switzerland).

    You don’t waist time talking during concerts and don’t tell silly stories between songs, you just do what people came for and what you are best at:
    You play music to shake heaven and hell. That’s what I love you for!

    I hope you had a good time in Zurich too. For me it was so great!
    Wishing you good luck for the rest of your tour and hope to see you again very soon.

    Sara, xx

    By the way: Missed to hear again a little because I think it suits your voice so very, very well, but I do understand that you must be sick by now playing it again and again 😉

    October 24, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  11. Frederic

    Dear Dave,

    I went to the show at the Atelier in Luxembourg. It was my first Archive show and I was really impressed by your music and your performance. My friend David and myself waited at the end of the show, hoping to meet some members of the band. You were all very nice and it was great to spend time with members of the group, shooting photos with you, Darius …, discussing with Pollard … Great memory … The day after, my friend and myself decided to buy tickets for your next gig in Saarbruken ! and I have been listening to your records since then ! Many thx

    October 24, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  12. Yesterday Dresden show was great. Thank’s

    October 25, 2012 at 10:56 am

  13. I feel so sorry for these horrible food you ate:(.I hope you will rest and recover as soon as possible.I feel, also,sorry for a few selfish people complain because they had to change their ” own” plan…because you show was cancelled..

    October 30, 2012 at 7:57 am

  14. Hello Dave ❤

    thank you very much for the live tonight November 6, 2012 in Paloma, Nîmes France! thank you very much for sharing your passion and all the love that emanates! Archive is my first inspiration to paint and make me into my Art! music puts me in a trance that touches me deep in my soul!

    Here is a slideshow of my work that you are my muse! I hope it will give you emotions
    ❤ love ❤

    Céline

    November 7, 2012 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

