Just another WordPress.com site

ARCHIVE W.U.U.Y.D. TOUR BLOG DISPATCH 2

There’s nothing worse than a skinny hotel bed. I kept rolling over and almost falling out of the damn thing every couple of minutes in yet another restless night of woken attempts at sleeping. Maybe I’m to wired to sleep? Episodes of Homeland and the walking dead kept me company though.

A Sunday of strolling around Munich was calm and some fine German nosh was scoffed alongside some even finer Augustina beer. The Manglebird, Smiley and I ended up in a Irish / Australian bar supping Guinness watching 22 men kick a ball on a massive plasma TV Screen, then we got a cab back to the hotel. Nothing really exiting happened to be honest; some days off are just that…A Day off.

A grey day with Winter sharply biting the heels of the slowing down Autumn was next for our show in Munich. Thankfully the weather didn’t have any sort of knock on effect for the fine people who came out to this show.. t was great and the crowd were fucking marvellous. Ending the night with our first official encore with Kings of Speed left the room with a warm fuzz filled glow. Cheers people of Munich and a nod to the hotel staff who I must say were the most pleasant bunch of ladies we’ve ever encountered. They where so Polite and friendly and that club sandwich was ace. Danke schön to you all.

I’m writing the part whilst on the bus about to watch the film “Bernie” Next inserts soon.

So ummmmm yeah ok where was I? Where am I? Oh yeah I’m In Berlin, again. After 5 days off!!! We were supposed to play Hamburg last night but due to some crazy vomiting, uncontrollable bowel movements, severe teeth grinding back problems it was just impossible for us to be able to perform a show so for the first time that I can remember on a tour, we had to cancel a show. Tonight’s show in Berlin is on though all be it though still feeling icky and cramped we will beat this bastard illness with amplified music.

To completely change the subject I have been watching a fair few films lately so here are my scores for them:

Bernie 6/10

Bad Ass 3/10

The Mist 8/10

Red Lights 4/10

Jeff who lives at Home 7/10

Goon 5/10

So Far the Mist is in the lead, I liked the TV Movie vibe of it and it was very unpredictable.

My stomach hurts and I’m waiting for the washing machine to be free.

Report again soon

I am Dave Pen

9 responses

  1. I was there in Munich and it was a truly pleasure seeing you all and listening to your gorgeous music!
    Not even the two jerks standing left-handed to me who seemed to be nailed to the ground and had been hit by Medusa’s look I nearly yelled the heck out of my lungs for the first official encore.

    So now to all: get well soon!

    October 30, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  2. Gereon

    Hey Dave,

    I realize this is probably a lot to ask, but here goes anyway: I wanted to see your show in Hamburg with my girlfriend, but she could only stay in Hamburg until Monday, so she can’t see the show now.

    Is there any way to let her experience the concert vicariously? What I was thinking is perhaps you are going to record the show or something along those lines; really just anything to let her get a taste of Archive live.

    I also posted on your facebook page, but I figure I have a better chance of getting a reply here.

    Thanks!

    October 31, 2012 at 12:06 pm

  3. Hanseatisch

    Hey Dave,

    I realize this is probably a lot to ask, but here goes anyway: I wanted to see your show in Hamburg with my girlfriend, but she could only stay in Hamburg until Monday, so she couldn’t see the show yesterday.

    Is there any way to let her experience the concert vicariously? What I was thinking is perhaps you recorded some parts of the show or something along those lines; really just anything to let her get a taste of Archive live.

    Thanks!

    November 1, 2012 at 9:38 am

  4. Hanseatisch

    Ok, sorry, I was wondering why the comment didn’t show up and didn’t notice that it was awaiting moderation when I first posted it. Please ignore the second post.

    November 1, 2012 at 9:39 am

  5. Steffen

    I have not yet seen Goon oder Red Lights, but you’re quite right about the other movies, although I would probably give The Mist 9/10, because the ending is so unexpected and shocking.

    Totally looking forward to Friday night in Darmstadt, and if there’s any chance of “Waste” being played I would look forward even more eagerly (if that is possible).

    November 1, 2012 at 1:43 pm

  6. Hi Dave,
    It’s often difficult to fall asleep for me too…I think I’m like you : a bit too much speed & energetic !! Let me advise you listening to great music rather than watching screens which is probably get you more restless… Currently, I fall asleep with Robin Foster and yourself ! Rather efficient for me, let’s find your own relaxation’s playlist…and maybe become zen to sleep !
    I hope you’re all now cured from cold & spoiled food… I imagine that your last shows has been very tiring after that “illness attack”.
    See you now in 10 days…my awesome “Archive’s week” finally arrive after long months waiting for…!! I’m really looking forward. I’ll try to see you before the gig in “my village” to offer to you all some regional booze, a cocktail born in Caen called “Ambush”… Unfortunately, I can’t lead you to the bar which invented it, but some other bars might sell it in bottles…I’m searching for !
    So, see you soon in great shape !! I’m so nervous, can’t wait “Nooo Mooooore”…!!
    Hope I’ll be lucky to heard “Kings Of Speed” too… “The Empty Bottle”, “Blood In Numbers” & “Bullets” are also on my wishes…
    Have some great gigs with Robin ! (You’ll be very cool to say him “Hello!” for my part…)
    I’m very jealous of German’s crowds, it will be two gorgeous shows on the same evening for them !! Maybe France will be lucky to see Robin Foster & his band on support act on Archive’s 2013 tour…! With hope…
    So, I stop here…though…Even the length of my comments don’t get you fall asleep ??? Much the better !
    Take care & Carry on !

    I am only Emilie

    November 2, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  7. Good evening,

    I, first discovered you in Athens.8 years ago.”Fuck you” changed my life forever as I have been able to send this song to someone who gave fucking drugs to the man I was loving so much.This drug killed my Greek sweetheart and this death broke my soul and my heart.
    Since, I listen to Archive and Birdpen with a caring ear.I am not a famous “fan” who has the chance to communicate with you.They are so many.I sent you an humble gift through Twitter (Marquee Moon-Television), just because I heard their sound through yours.I read your blog , I follow Archive’s tour from Sweden even if I am French, almost 40% English because of my life in Cambridge.Well, I did my very best to be natural, caring and grateful.
    I do understand how such a huge musical tour puts you under pressure.Lack of sleep,hyperactivity, many people around you asking questions, “bad food and vomiting consequences”.At least, your public is warm and close to you.Wonderful result after your amazing shows.
    But..poor me:(I received a bad message regarding my way to get in touch with you.A kind of violent message from one your “fan”.To be honest, I had a tear .Not used with violence,I could not understand.
    It was “Get out” from Archive.This song had been sent to me with ” From Dave Pen …to Elisabeth”
    Sad and violent world with people who cant understand who is behind a computer’s screen.
    Behind my computer, it was me , a simple French woman living in Sweden with her own pain, her lonely road and her admiration for Archive and Birdpen.

    I just wished to tell you how hurt I have been.French express their feelings,it belong to our identity?
    Look after yourself .

    November 3, 2012 at 10:43 pm

  8. Amit Yaor

    Hello,
    I just camr back from Cologne.
    The concert was amazing and I still try to recover.
    I am listenning to your music something like 3 years,
    And still does nor understand how I did not meet your musuc before.

    I came to Cologne, Germany to see your concert, from Israel.

    I wish you come to Israel to make your concert as you planned 2-3 years ago.
    Tel – Aviv is waiting for you, just come.

    Amit.

    November 7, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  9. T

    hello Amit! Is Archive well known in Israel? I sure hope they ll go for a gig one day!

    November 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

