Just another WordPress.com site

ARCHIVE W.U.U.Y.D TOUR BLOG DISPATCH 4

So into France we go…After a superb and warm filled show in Nimmes we had a day off in Nante and stayed in a hotel/apartment that was like a cool box. I tried and tried to get the heater to work and just couldn’t work it out. What happened to the simple things, there was quite literally about 16 buttons on this controller and none of them when pushed did shit!! I woke up the next morning and walked around with my duvet wrapped around me, I can’t remember the last time I did that and have certainly never done it whilst on tour.

Touring always has it’s up’s and downs and of late the feeling of being a bit “lost in space” has started to orbit around me. I think it’s a natural thing when sometimes you need space and peace and quiet and time to think. Sleeping lots is good and reading and exercise all help my mind with the obvious cranking up instruments, hitting toms and singing your guts out is all therapy to me. What seems to be the problem Mr Pen?, Nothing Doctor, I will be fine in a few days time.

I wonder if I should watch all four Critter movies I have with me, that might lift me from my slumber. I love ridiculous Horror movies.

I will carry this blog on.

I’m not a big fan of days off on tour to be honest, it kind of breaks the routine and flow of show days and always seems to leave me more tired that when I’m performing. So after shows in Nante, Bordeaux and Toulouse we had a day off in Caen and also had to cancel the show due to yet more un-foreseen circumstances. So then the next day was also a day so we drove into Belgium a night earlier before the show in Brussels. We travelled to  Brouge  through the day and watched the masterpiece that is it Apocalypse Now “Redux” version. Three hours twenty minutes of pure genius and madness was enjoyed thoroughly and this film will always rank of one of the best films of all time in my opinion.

So we arrived in Brouge where we were staying on a boat hotel. Sounded quirky but to be honest it didn’t really do it for me and I woke up to realise Mike, whom I usually share a twin room with had sacked the cramp cabin style room vibe off and obviously gone to the tour bus which was parked in the carpark outside to get his sleep for the night. I had thought of doing the same thing but didn’t and now I am wide awake at 6.30 and writing this blog. I want some water but there is no mini bar and the breakfast doesn’t start until 8am. This place kind of sucks to be honest, I do have a chocolate milk drink in a can in my bag but it’s not really what I want right now to quench my thirst.

I am very much looking forward to playing in Brussels tonight and I also have my wife and family coming out to visit so it will be great to see them all.

I am awake and don’t want to be, I want to sleep.

Here’s a picture of a man kissing his horse.

Image

I am Dave Pen

7 responses

  1. Flipper07

    What is it really Brouge? I guess you mean Brugge, don’t you?
    Anyway, thanks very much for your great show in Brussel!!!
    It was the 4th time for me seeing you, and I can’t wait to see you again…
    I was glad to discover Holly Martin and also of course the rest of the band…. Always good when you mix new songs with the great old one.
    Thanks again and see you next time you come in Belgium.

    November 22, 2012 at 9:58 am

  2. Such a huge tour… I hope you all survive it. I can’t wait to see your post when you get to Poland. Hope to see Archive on stage next week in Poznan. Please don’t cancel it!

    November 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  3. Hi Dave,
    Just some few words to tell you that I hope you feel better now. Sure, the closeness to the “Team Tour” almost all day long, all people you meet on gigs, a new town every day so far from your home etc… may sometimes make you feel yourself giddy…!
    A part of your therapy consists to unload your energy on stage…part of mine is to attend to great gigs ! So, please, continue the treatment Mr Pen…so I could continue mine !!
    Although, I really hope that Archive will be able to perform in Caen very soon, as intented. I can’t content myself with only two gigs on W.U.U.Y.D Tour ! Couple of gigs in Paris were really awesome, mainly on saturday…!! But I’ll talk about later, probably on comment on your next post… For now, it’s not the subject !
    Looking forward to read the following. Take care !
    I am only Emilie

    November 25, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  4. Good morning Dave,
    Here is almost perfection for me: “The Cure”.I was in Wembley for this song”Pictures of you” and when I look at all the pictures you posted on your blog (especially the one with the man kissing his horse),I keep on mind one sentence from The Cure”That I almost believe that the pictures are all I can feel”
    Talentuous in your way to write and to express.
    Have a good rest after your magical Archive tour all over Europe.
    I will fly from Sweden to Belgium to see Birdpen in December and happy to do that.

    November 26, 2012 at 9:56 am

  5. J

    Dave,
    I just wanted to say thanks for everything you gave us last Saturday in Milan.
    I hope I can see you again..
    J

    November 26, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  6. Nice Blog. We dropped a pic on Pinterest in our INTERNATIONAL section and out via twitter too. 🙂 http://pinterest.com/stpaulsapparel/ 🙂

    November 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

  7. I paid attention to details..those who keep you awake:)
    http://www.youtube.com/user/theofficialsaints?feature=results_main

    November 26, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

