Just another WordPress.com site

ARCHIVE W.U.U.Y.D TOUR BLOG DISPATCH 5

 Ok so I’m sat in a nice quaint hotel in Rome. It took us all day to get here and the roads around where we are staying is like a catwalk for bony birds to prance down so certainly a near on fifteen/twenty ton tour bus wasn’t gonna slip down these streets.

I need to re-cap where I’ve been what I’ve done what I’ve seen for this blog.

Our shows in France have now finished and we had a fantastic time as always touring the familiar country. The Zenith shows I have to say were up there with some of the best shows I can remember playing. The energy was amazing and the crowd were fantastic.

This tour has flown pass and we are now over the other side of the hill with eleven shows remaining. I have a bet with Smiley we won’t see any snow fall on this tour and so far I’m winning. The winner gets an Irish Coffee, nice.

On the film front I’m gonna have to think hard about what I have watched since last time. Here goes:

Marwencol – 8/10

The Woman in Black 7/10

Apocalypse Now – Redux Edition 9/10

Beyond the Black Rainbow 9/10

Red State 3/10

Beasts of the Southern wild 8.5/10

Aaaaannnd I have to confess in a pure bored and nerd horror state of mind I watched all four Phantasm Movies and I give the whole collective of movies an 8/10 rating and Hank from Breaking Bad is in all four of them, total bonus!!

At this point in time I can’t remember what else has happened lately which means I will carry this on very soon.

Amsterdam was a good day off and a great show and a bonus to have some of my hometown crew come out and see Archive play. I like Holland a lot and wondering around the streets of Amsterdam is always a total treat. On our day off we had some muffins and went to see a movie “Beasts of the Southern Wild” see score above. I then searched out a nice bar I have visited every time I’ve been to Amsterdam and got snuggled in for some beers and laughs. I love this bar and have many memories of it over the last 3 years of my life. Next time in Amsterdam, I will definitely be going there again.

A big part of recreational activities is reading and before the tour I bought along four books – At the Mountains of madness by H.P.Lovekraft, Here Come the Barbarians by J.M Coatzee, The Man who cycled the Americas by Mark Beaumont and This Book is full of Spiders by David Wong. I’ve read three of them so far and I’m now on “This book is full of Spiders”. I thoroughly enjoyed The Man who cycled the Americas and Mark who is a friend of mine is a true adventurer and I highly recommend his two books so far, they are very inspiring. I am also loving J.M Coatzee’s work at the moment his dark look at South African history through fiction is so very captivating and also bleak but thoroughly enjoyable.

I’m writing this on the bus in Milan after a couple of great shows in Rome. Wow what a city that is, I wore myself out cramming as much in as I could. I think the Pantheon stole the show for me. It blew me away.

OK that’ll do for this one I reckon

I am Dave Pen

Image

 

8 responses

  1. M

    Glad you liked Rome, it is an amazing city. Just wanted to say I’m from there and my favourite place there is also the pantheon. There is something about that place… It has been standing there for over 2000 years while the city keeps growing… Maybe it is that, I don’t know, but it really gives me a feeling I cannot describe still today!

    November 27, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  2. Adrian

    Dave, please check immediately the inbox of official profile of Archive at myspace. There is a message from me. It is so important for me. Don’t leave it without any response, at least write that it is impossible what I’m asking for. In 43 hours you are going to play in Gdańsk, so need to know the answer tomorrow. Pleeeeeeeeeeeease!

    November 27, 2012 at 11:38 pm

  3. Rome is such an amazing place, you can feel the history seeping through the pavements and walls of the buildings.
    So looking forward to seeing you live in Londinium next week.

    November 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  4. Really happy to read that the Zenith shows in Paris were some of the best gigs you remember. Indeed, those two evenings were outstanding !! I really enjoyed every seconds of this couple of gigs, especially on sat’ which was absolutely amazing…and “Waste” to finish left me totally bewitched…!
    Now, what I call the “after gig blues” has replaced impatience. I very much hope that I won’t have to wait about five months to attend to another awesome Archive’s show ! I really count on another date in Caen, mainly Normandy’s not far from you all…!!
    So, hope see you soon in “my village”… By waiting, enjoy the remainder of W.U.U.Y.D Tour & watch out yourself !
    I am only Emilie

    November 30, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  5. Roberta

    Next time, Dave you have Yorkshire a pitture euro me!!!! In Milan, last night you don’t want!!!!! Love Roberta

    December 2, 2012 at 8:50 am

  6. it was exciting to see you on the stage (really little alàs) at November 23 in Rome:at the sound of your music we danced, we moved and we have been involved in dreamy atmosphere of your extraordinary musical rhythms that have made up for the location somewhat inadequate: the structure of the room was low and crushed a little sound by vibrating a little bit of local. Emotions a lot..Thanks Dave and Archive ,Pollard , Maria q,Il grande Steve Harris,Holly ecc. un caro saluto a tutti .. “with you until forever…” HASTA SIEMPRE..Ciaooo

    December 4, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  7. Dave
    it was exciting to see you on the stage (a bit small alàs) at November 23 in Rome:at the sound of your music we danced and have been involved in dreamy atmosphere of your extraordinary musical rhythms that have made up for the location somewhat inadequate: the structure of the room was low and crushed a little the sound by vibrating a little bit the local. Emotions a lot..Thanks Dave and Archive ,Pollard , Maria q,Il grande Steve Harris,Holly and others . un caro saluto a tutti .. “with you until forever…” HASTA SIEMPRE..Ciao

    December 6, 2012 at 8:52 pm

  8. Hi,
    I am smiling, thinking about the poor cool-cucumber-lady next to me on that November Saturday at the Zenith. She must have discovered what a possessed-sweating-yelling-bursting out Archive fan could be like.
    The whole show – and the AMAZING NEVER ENDING Waste – left me speechless (which is quite unusual being a……woman 🙂 and filled with an indescribable energy (although I had let all mine blow out). Archive sound makes me feel genuinely… HUMAN and… ALIVE !

    Summer festivals are fantastic occasions to let these emotions surface. See you there again.

    T H A N K Y O U

    Ingrid

    July 8, 2013 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

