Just another WordPress.com site

ARCHIVE W.U.U.Y.D TOUR BLOG DISPATCH 6

So after the smiling faces of Italy we headed into Austria. A last day off in Vienna before seven shows in a row was had in the company of a huge American sports bar filled with television screens beaming sports from all over the world for our first stop. We ate like tourists and drank like the English. Then we moved on to a more traditional drinking establishment which was a lovely old Viennese bar, we snuggled in there for a few more hours then went and wondered around looking at the sites of Vienna in the cold air of the night and stopping in many more bars. The show on the Monday night was awesome and the crowd were really up for it, which was fantastic for a Monday show.

Into Poland we went after that and as always the Polish were so welcoming to what we do and the two nights in Gdansk, were we’d never been before were special. The club we played for two sold out nights was filled from top to bottom of faces looking at us from all angles; everywhere I looked there were people watching.

Into Prague to sleep for a long time and wake up on an empty bus so I went strolling around the city before the show.

One of the most smoky gigs I’ve ever done I reckon. The ban hasn’t quite caught on in the Czech Republic yet!! A rowdy and fuzz filled show was played and a slightly crazy looking massive bearded man jumped up and down in front of me for pretty much the whole show which was a bit odd. Maybe I should lose my beard soon?

Back on the bus for half of us as half the touring party jumped on a plane to get back to Homeland as soon as they could. I snuggled into my bunk for the long journey and slept like a massive log.

Back in Homeland now writing this after a night in a nice hotel before the final Archive show of this tour and 2012.

I’m listening to Scott Walker’s new album. It makes me think of what Larry David might sound like if he decided to go into a music studio whist on really strong hallucinogenic drugs. His new album is really intense but has also made me smile.

The sun is shining here in London

I am Dave Pen

8 responses

  1. Thanks for amazing shows in Poland 🙂 especially for Poznań 🙂 It was great to see you again=) I hope you do not forget about our invitation for BirdPen written on Polish flag 😉
    I’ve got also some photos from Warsaw if you want:) http://zebranewkadrze.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/archive-stodola-28-11-2012/ Enjoy =)
    Can’t wait to see you next time =)

    December 4, 2012 at 3:18 pm

  2. Bára

    I’m sorry to hear that you don’t actually like it in Prague. But just for a record, that crazy jumpin’ guy was from England and he was irritating for all of us.

    December 4, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  3. I have to climb your wall
    Cause you’re the one
    Who makes me feel much taller than you are

    Thats what I feel when I read what you write , thats what I feel when I listen to your songs,thats what I feel when you make me laugh underlining funny things,

    You’re a great and bright man.

    Happy that you are back to the UK with your familiy enjoying warm and peaceful moments.

    December 4, 2012 at 9:18 pm

  4. lacorneille

    mon anglais est trop mauvais aussi je me présente, je m’appelle Catherine, je voudrais bien que vous m’adoptiez avant la fin du monde et même après !
    Dave, je vous ai vu au zénith de Paris avec Archive, votre voix est magnifique et vous avez sur mon âme un pouvoir absolu, votre timbre de voix s’améliore et s’harmonise avec tous ceux avec qui vous avez travailler,
    vous rendez ma vie meilleure et mes insomnies avec vos albums m’aide beaucoup à passer de nombreux cap, j’aime tout chez vous, vous êtes comme mon frère, votre existence rend la mienne plus facile ! Votre sensibilité aiguisée me fascine, vous nous donnez beaucoup de vous même, cela vous rend magnifique !

    Allez vous venir encore cette année au Batofar ?

    Merci de venir nous voir si souvent pour partager votre belle énergie et votre beauté physique si si !

    December 5, 2012 at 5:56 am

  5. lacorneille

    hello Dave, je suis allée vous voir avec Archive au Zénith, c’était trop cool, j’étais un peu loin et le son du zénith parisien n’est pas celui que je préfère, cependant votre voix m’a hypnotisée, j’aime beaucoup la voix de Maria, ce sont vos deux voix qui me passionne, la musique aussi évidemment, en fait je vous aime tous !
    Batofar ou pas cette année ou début 2013 ?
    je me suis inscrite ici et puis fausse manoeuvre due au manque de sommeil, j’ai fermé, je suis un peu dans les nuages dès que je vous vois 😉 !!! aussi j’espère un prochain passage de Birdpen à Paris, je vous adore ! votre voix à des vertues comme une vraie thérapie sur moi :-)))))) je vous écoute tous les jours sans me lasser, le travail avec Robin était très bon également,
    je ne suis plus toute jeune, aussi votre musique est une bénédiction pour moi, car je ne pouvais pas adhérer à beaucoup d’autres artistes,
    Vous me redonnez l’espoir et je crois en vous très fort,
    avec encore une fois tout mes remerciements,
    Catherine

    December 6, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  6. I really appreciate to read your blog and your tweets.Its sounds genuine, funny, realistic,simple and down to earth..I loved the one about Money, dollars, pounds and Christmas;)So much to say about those who dont even have the luck to see one note in their pocket within the whole year and not only for Christmas event…
    I suppose that The Verve already paid attention on the meaning of “money” a few years ago but , of course, you know it.
    To end this comment , I really love “Thorns” , “Off” and your video ” Dead factory”.
    You are , really, a special man with precious skills.
    Thank you and see you with Birpen in Belgium if my plane from Sweden is right with the take off:)Snow and cold here are very very tricky.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lyu1KKwC74

    December 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  7. Here is the deepest “thank you” I might give you, Dave, for “The Safety in Numbers Is Now Zero “.Lyrics from this song are my own thoughts for many years and still now.
    I had tears when I listened to this song, warm and respectful tears regarding the way you are able to pay attention to human pains, fears and loneliness with your sensitive voice..
    Not easy to write down what I wrote but at least, I have done it and I look like the man kissing his horse, the same one than on the picture your posted.

    December 27, 2012 at 1:57 pm

  8. strauch

    Thank you Dave (and Archive) for the great tour, and for the christmas, apocalypse and darkest concert in liege this was the best thing ever to start christmas with birdpen, and the sound there and your performance was great.
    Now i wait to see you and Archive in Krefeld Germany. YEEEHHHAAA

    December 30, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

