Just another WordPress.com site

ACROSS THE BOSPHORUS

Am on route to Turkey for two shows in Ankara and Istanbul, I had the middle seat which is never a great thing as the fear of waking up in a dreary state with gob slobber leaking out over the shoulder of the person to either your right or your left, plus you head tilts back and your mouth opens and you just never know what fall into the cavern of an unconscious open mouth man.The in-flight movie was rubbish, it lasted the whole flight and was a poor silent movie of an animated plane flying across a huge map. I snoozed ate a ready meal and read my book.
We arrived to a chaotic airport , paid a tenner to get into Turkey and then joined a huge line to get a stern stamp of the passport. For the first time we have a sleeper tour bus for the long drive to Ankara and then back to Istanbul. Te bus was a bit like a massive Chalet on wheels with bunks straight out of a Nineteen Seventies looking Ikea, which probably makes them “modern”. No quilts just blankets which seemed a bit St Johns ambulance which made me feel safe but slightly Chilly and vulnerable. I managed to sleep and was awoken by the song of prayer blaring out as the sunshine shot through the window in my bunk. I realised after getting up that we were parked directly next to Ankara’s biggest mosque which was a magnificent structure. See pic below:

Image

For some reason the ball of my right foot is hurting, A lot!! I have no idea why. This section of this blog was written in the hotel lobby and Dan is sat opposite me. Info again in a bit, Might explore a little.

I explored Ankara and managed to pick up a Turkish copy of Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. I am collecting this brilliant science fiction novel and am now up to 4 copies, 2 English, I english with some German annotations, and an analysis in German at the end of the book. (which i’m still waiting to be delivered) and now a Turkish copy, all have different covers of course. A Turkish Version:

Image

The showย  at the Jolly Joker in Ankara was loud and on the edgy rocky side. it was good to get one under the belt before the German tour and the festival season begins and the fans there were excitable and cheerful . A few gremlins in the system here and there which is always common with first shows when getting out on the road.
I managed to get some fairly decent sleep and wrapped myself up in scarf and hoodie with the hood up for extra warmth obviously the St Johns ambulance blanket was used to full effect so I wrapped myself up like a cocoon and drifting off in a covonia induced sleep. I woke up in the morning with the sun blazing in through the window and sweat pouring from my legs and head, still wrapped in the now ultra snug slightly hotter than the sun cocoon. I got up had a coffee went to the hotel and heard that North Korea had declared war on South Korea. “goes around and around and around, butโ€ฆ.Only the names change.” There was also an African grey parrot in the lobby whistling away and he seemed happy so I focused my attention on him instead. I’m writing this back stage whilst a game of back gammon is being played, the dice are very small and are making a quite some what irritable chinking sound every time they are rolled. Will carry this on later.
The show was great and the fans in Istanbul were excellent so a massive thank you to you all. Drinks were had after back at the hotel on the roof garden looking out over the Bosphorus. Europe one side and Asia the other, quite awesome that just a bridge divides the two.

Image

A little bit of sleep on the smooth flight back to the UK which is still really cold so am still having to wear a scarf and winter coat, all of the time when venturing outside. Hopefully the animals that have been sleeping all winter are building a plan as to not be too freaked out when they wake up and realise that it still feels like winter out there.
Am finishing this blog off at home just before setting out the door to catch the train to London to leave for the German part of this spring tour. A few changes within the set-up are now settling in as we continue on our journey into the unknown through amplified music. See you in a bit then yeah.
I am Dave Pen

8 responses

  1. If you still need some advice on your big toe until next week, maybe I can help as I`m an orthopaedic surgeon. I promise not to cut it off… Well, hopefully the problem has resolved until then. See you in Erlangen

    April 3, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    • My foot seems better now but that’s very kind of you to offer your services. Time for a tap dance I think.

      April 5, 2013 at 9:33 am

      • Glad to hear that. “Doctor treats, nature heals”. Take care.

        April 5, 2013 at 4:58 pm

  2. Mari

    Nice post Dave! ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you look inside The mosque? It’s really amazing and peaceful when you’re in there. Ankara was really cool. I love that place because there my dream came true… I saw The archive . And distance between us was so smaaall :)) That was really the most beautiful minutes in my life (It’s not exaggerated)…
    The show was brilliant.. Just some fun made me angry, because they kept crying ‘Again’, ‘Again’ and so on when new track was started and I wanted to hear and enjoy with the music. ))
    I planed to see Istanbul show too, but as I was in a hurry to back to my country, I couldn’t. :((
    I’ll see you on tour again , I’m sure!! Maybe one day in Tbilisi ?… It’d be awesome :))
    I love your music. I love you all…
    Best wishes!
    With love from Georgia ^^ :*

    April 3, 2013 at 5:29 pm

  3. I’m happy I found this blog. I was in Istanbul to attend your concert and it was great. Thank you very much for these 2 hours! I’m from Georgia and I hope you’ll come here someday, maybe soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S.: If you want, I can send you Georgian copy of Fahrenheit 451.

    April 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm

  4. Tolga

    Dear Dave,
    I want to ask you a question, what made Archive come to Turkey?
    Because I know you haven’t before, event if you always had a lot of fans there.
    Why suddenly?
    (just wanted to know what attracted you)
    cheers xx

    April 15, 2013 at 3:01 am

  5. I saw your show in Amsterdam. It was incredible!
    great blog though..especially the photos!

    May 12, 2013 at 11:46 pm

  6. Pingback: Archive: vol. Again | แƒกแƒแƒ›แƒงแƒแƒ แƒแƒก แƒฃแƒ™แƒแƒœแƒแƒกแƒ™แƒœแƒ”แƒšแƒ˜ แƒ‘แƒšแƒแƒ’แƒ˜

Leave a Reply

