Just another WordPress.com site

TOUR BLOG 1 – BUNKED

The cosiness of having my own cheap suite in a budget hotel has now gone, the dark comforts of the bunk have set in and I quite like it. So far I’ve avoided anything intoxicating my blood stream, from bud to mud I’ve said no. One Pina colada is all I had, this wont last. I have to be realistic about myself and a day off is looming, I will run before poison though.

The sun has tried a few tired attempts to brighten the skies but has failed and been mulled and jumped on upon by a bunch of dark grey moody rain filled clouds. It sometimes feels like I have TSAD. Today’s view from my bunk window didn’t really fill me with bright up and at them energy.

Bunk View 1

I’m on a new wanna be swanky bus which has a cheap IKEA naff bling vibe to it. Different coloured dimming lights, a TV that comes up from an invisible slot and fills the whole of the front window etc. The light in my bunk doesn’t work and there is no power in there of which to charge devices. We all need devices right? It’s all European so I miss the sturdiness of the 3 fork UK plugs.

We’ve done two shows so far. One was brand new and some of the processors in a computer decided to bail out for a minute or two, which meant Pollard and I had to ramble at the French audience for some time. They weren’t going anywhere and were sometimes as silent as a stone in a vacuum pack. All was well on the other show in the mess fest of Amsterdam until my guitar sounded like a ten-ton ball of electric wire that wrapped my brain and was plugged into the mains. I couldn’t get monitor man Kev who was dressed as a shark to notice my intense loud problem and when he looked he thought my head gesture meant up, so the level went empire state. That didn’t help and by the time we managed to bring it down to the human ear-viewing platform it was too late and my vibe had been dropped like a wedding cake. The nerd in me was coming out and the fact that the show was top didn’t matter. When you are one song away from the end and something goes wrong it can destroy the whole thing. Is that ungrateful or professional?

So far I’ve watched 3 films. Halloween 4, Halloween 5 and Halloween 6. They are all completely mind numbingly terrible. Why am I watching them? I have brought so many good films with me.

Here’s another glamorous bunk photo from being on tour.

Bunk View 2

I am Dave Pen

12 responses

  1. I have to say Dave that the pictures aren’t up to your usual standard but then i suppose you haven’t got the raw material to work with. I know what you mean with the IKEA bling thing as I live in a flat full of it. Looks shiny shiny but it is breaky breaky.
    I think that is it professional rather ungrateful to want everything to go smoothly but as a regular gig goer you experience blips from time to time. Neil Finn often forgets words to songs or even used the wrong guitar on a couple of occasions and rather than it spoiling the gig, it just makes you realise that everyone makes mistakes even consulate musicians. Looking forward to the London show.

    February 22, 2015 at 2:38 pm

  2. Oh dear lord look at the spelling mistakes in that. consummate musician.

    February 22, 2015 at 2:40 pm

  3. Hello, good afternoon, Dave Pen, you’re a excellent musician your voice timbre and melody has is powerful, believed in you more, more will come opportunity, because God help their children. God does not give more pain than we can bear .I call me Paula and other times I heard voices …. but that’s because I was weak mentally, you can not isolate yourself. I’m a loner, I lost many opportunities for lack of support. YOU have your fans, I am your fan … fear attracts fear evil attracts evil. you have to have a mental technique to appeal to you to ace positive things, etc. photo Dave you have to feel free. and photography is a world open to all this freedom I judge that you have no girlfriend or wife. You are a beautiful man with a very own style. I’ve seen the few interviews already missing, and your songs both in Archive as Dave Bird and no one can be indeferente. kisses and strength, excuse my English but is translate. I speak better than I write. Much luck you have value, believed more in you. If you want to ever talk to me would be a gift to me.

                                                Paula Ash.

    February 22, 2015 at 6:10 pm

  4. desculpe Dave as o programa translate deu a entender uma frase que seria agradavel em outro sentido….se você quiser falar comigo seria com muito gosto .

    February 22, 2015 at 6:18 pm

  5. ás vezes perco-m no tempo, mas tenho quase a certeza que foi ontem á noite que vi e ouvi dave pen a cantar….e gostei. tenho acompanhado a banda Archive desde o cd noise que comprei na fnac do chiado e o cd ligths.este tipo de música ou ama-se ou odeia-se e eu adorei…quanto á pergunta de Dave Pen …acho que foi profissional . O público é fiel aos seus idolos. Eu acho mal que os artistas não sejam compreendidos…e até passar maus momentos,,quando nos dão tanto……(agora estou a escrever em português)…..

    February 22, 2015 at 8:23 pm

  6. François

    Better landscapes when you’re on stage! See you soon. 😉

    February 23, 2015 at 11:15 am

    • não acho justo a condição de Dave pen…um exelente musico ..um ser sensivel com grande alma.com tanta motivação. Eu admiro-o..sou fã.ele vai dar a volta á sua situação, tenho a certeza..é preciso acreditat!

      February 23, 2015 at 12:35 pm

  7. stefanie

    great pictures! remind me of a room with a view from fauwlty towers 😀 looking forward to have you in vienna soon

    February 25, 2015 at 8:23 pm

  8. Dave és destemido..as noites deveriam ser dificieis com a diminuação da temperatura.
    Escreves-te que viste filmes de terror e nada te afetou,,,,somos dois……não te marginalizo…..pelo caminho que escolhes-te. Eu escolhi o pior(entendes..o sol esvai-se)
    sobrevivi…..e se não acontece é porque Deus não quer.Cada pessoa tem um karma nesta vida…..se pensas que estás mal……és livre, independente….duas palavras que valorizo muito.

    February 25, 2015 at 10:24 pm

  9. I’ve been there on the Amsterdam show and it was a blast. You gave a very good concert, thank you!

    March 8, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    • I’m delighted, it seems that in a way I am dreaming, I try to absorb the words, the music gradually, there are words and feelings that will not write here because that has to be a very strong hug. I think in you.

      September 2, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    • I’m delighted, it seems that in a way I am dreaming, I try to absorb the words, the music gradually, there are words and feelings that will not write here because that has to be. A very strong hug. I think in you…..

      September 2, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

