Just another WordPress.com site

SECOND RAMBLE

We are a few more shows in now after I decapitated a snowman in a car park and slept for 18 hours. It’s all going great and we are playing for almost 2 hours a night so the memory is on top form. I’m hungry and sandwiches are on their way for the after gig snack, the pizzas have disappeared, and I guess that’s a good thing, right? I do like a slice now and then though.

………………………

My tired head is awaiting the bus to collect us from the hotel in Hamburg. I need to sleep some more after bringing the rider back to the hotel last night. We avoided the darkness and flashing seedy lights of the reeperbahn and celebrated the shows successes so far and having the next day off back at our hotel. Earlier on in the day Smiley and I walked into a pub full of the walking dead, it was no safe place to watch a football match and the flesh on the people in that place was grey and crawling so we turned and left after five seconds. I wouldn’t have wished this bar on anyone, it was proper grim.

………………………..

Onwards we go enjoying every show with the Germans treating us well with Frankfurt being my favourite crowd for some reason, maybe it was the free box of Maltesers that reminded me of home and the 10 mile run of discovery I did plus Motorstorm for the PS3 for ten Euros from the bargain bin from the Media Mart down the road.

Bunk time television shows have kept me company in the late hours as we’ve been hurtling down the autobahn. I’ve been trying to drown out the insane snoring from the depths of the bunk below me and Fortitude has been a cosy companion for such a freezing snowy show.

…………………………

Into Slovakia and its capital Bratislava where an electronic beats festival awaited us. Our first time here and a nice plush hotel was arranged for some r&r time during the day before our 1am headline slot. The hotel was nice but I got right into it with a duff locker in the spa changing rooms and had to get the maintenance men out to wrench it open with a couple of screwdrivers only to realise it wasn’t my locker at all. My key said 62 and Locker 63 wasn’t mine, it was actually 65, I grabbed my T-shirt and bailed for a hotel room bath and a curry feeling a little bit like Kermit.

The gig was cool and full of screens so we got a butchers at what goes on out the front, it was like 2001 a space odyssey and that is a good thing right?

OBEY-BRATISLAVA

Leaving now at 4.09am.

I am Dave Pen

5 responses

  1. Olá, Dave Pen…eu nem acredito que troco mensagens com uma pessoa tão famosa…no mundo da música. Ainda estou a digerir isso na minha cabeça. Foi com muito agrado que li os seus comentários …a vida é feita de altos e baixos……..e de defesas que criamos para não sofrer-mos tipo barreiras mas são necessárias,,, não pensa assim? Dave? estou a escrever em português..porque o meu inglês escrito é péssimo, mas o programa translate também não ajuda. você, escreve em inglês e eu leio em português .Há palavras que não fariam sentido se a conversa não fosse traduzida.
    o Dave é um homem bonito e com charme…..fale-me disso.Como lida com a fama…e da fama ser tão efemera..

    Dave, para a frente é o caminho…divirta-se mas com consciencia..

    Kiss from Paula Freixo.

    March 7, 2015 at 8:18 pm

  2. 4h09???? da manhã…..4.09.hours a.m???
    aqui em Portugal são 20.33 horas da noite..

    March 7, 2015 at 8:33 pm

  3. Francine Joliat

    Hi Dave, Hi Archive, Thank you, thank you, thank you very much for Geneva last Tuesday. It was an incredible moment, with a lot of good music and full of emotions. Sometimes, it was so hard to stay sitting, go shares with us the pleasure, and sometimes so quiet lake a religious moment. And the final, with the hypnotic “Lights”, an unforgettable instant. I wish you the best for the next shows. Francine

    March 16, 2015 at 5:51 pm

  4. Peyman

    Hi Dave. I saw you in Frankfurt’s Batschkapp and flew all the way from Tehran, Iran to see Archive live. Magnificent show indeed but unfortunately the security did not allow me to wait for meet and greet. Talked to your tour manager but he said it was not possible but anyway I wish you guys a successful tour. My regards to Pollard, Darius and Danny too. Keep Rockin’!

    March 28, 2015 at 11:46 am

  5. Hey, Dave 🙂 It’s my second comment here. I attended your concert in Istanbul 2 years ago and made a wish to see you in my country, Georgia…
    Just few days ago I heard that my dream will come true and Archive will be performing on Tbilisi open air/alter vision festival in July!
    Cant wait to see you here and after read your blog about your thoughts while being here! 🙂
    Tamta

    May 3, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Leave a Reply

